Book Reviews · Historical Fiction · Mystery · Romance

Passenger to Frankfurt

Passenger to FrankfurtPassenger to Frankfurt by Agatha Christie

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Agatha Christie is one of my all times favorite writers. Sadly it’s been a while since I read her books, therefore I’ve decided to finish my 2018 year with her novel.

We have quite an intriguing set up. I gorgeous young woman approaches Sir Stafford Nye at the Frankfurt airport. She makes a fascinating proposal and curious Mr. Nye accepts it without asking any further questions. Days later, after returning to London, Stanford tries to track down his mysterious new friend, but before he does that – she makes a sudden appearance.

This novel had great potential, however, I did got lost in youth riot/neo-Nazi/world domination scheme that was surrounding Stafford and his mysterious new friend. Unfortunately, I did not enjoy this novel as much as I expected, but it had a few entertaining parts.

IMG_20181228_121222_570

View all my reviews

Book Reviews · Christmas · Romance

Christmas at the Chalet

Christmas at the ChaletChristmas at the Chalet by Anita Hughes

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What a charming and heartwarming novel that is taking set in the best place on earth!

If you have to choose the place to fall in love during Christmas time, where would you go? Not sure about you, but you will find me in Switzerland’s most gorgeous ski chalet – St. Moritz. And it looks like me and our main character Felicity are thinking alike because she is on her way to the beautiful winter wonderland. Ok, fine, she is not single, and she is going there for work. But things are not looking good for Felicity in the love department. The owner of New York’s bridal salon, and upcoming designer, Ms. Grant seems to found “the one” years ago. She and Adam have been dating for years and seemed to be on the same page regarding their professional and personal lives. Yeah, you can be on the same page with someone, just make sure you’re reading the right book, am I not correct? Anyway, back to lovely Felicity.

Our lovely and sweet designer was hoping to receive a marriage proposal from her longtime boyfriend over Christmas, but he starts to get cold feet and suggests for the couple to take a break. Wrong thing to say to a gorgeous girl who is heading to Switzerland’s most exclusive resort that is filled with handsome single men. But of course, out girl is loyal. Instead of flirting her days away she keeps getting in most ridiculous accidents, and luckily enough, there is a dark, tall and handsome, and single, doctor who is there to sweep her off her feet.

A lovely and sweet page turner. I could not put it down. This is my second best favorite novel written by Anita Hudges. I definitely recommend this novel to any romance and Christmas lover! A perfect book to curl up with in a comfy chair with a glass of wine or hot cocoa.

IMG_20181225_205435_915

View all my reviews

Book Reviews · Historical Fiction · Mystery · Romance

The Light Over London

The Light Over LondonThe Light Over London by Julia Kelly

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Astonishing, charming and fascinating – are the words that come to my mind when I think of Julia Kelly’s new novel “The Light Over London”. I am a huge lover of historical fiction, and this book exceeded all my expectations.

After a not so pleasant divorce, antique dealer Cara throws herself in her work. Life after the divorce is hard, and Cara tries to pull herself together. But in order to “move on” one must sort out the past. And the only thing that bothers Cara about the past is a conversation she overheard between her Grandma and mother days before her parents died in a car crash. Unfortunately, Gran is one tough cookie to break.

One day at work, while clearing out an estate, Cara comes across a diary. And inside it, she also finds a photograph of a beautiful young girl in the uniform. Unable to stop her curiosity, Cara starts to read the diary and shares the story with her two new neighbors Liam and Rufus.

The story of nineteen-year-old Louise captivates the attention of two young people. After meeting and falling in love with a dashing RAF pilot, she runs away from her family home and joins the women’s branch of the British Army in the anti-aircraft gun unit as a Gunner Girl. Unfortunately, diary ends unexpectedly, leaving Cara and Liam with many unanswered questions that they are eager to resolve.

While chasing Louise’s past, Cara also finds out the answers to hers. Delightful story, with a few plot twists that the reader would enjoy. Thank you, NetGalley, Julia Kelly and Gallery Books for a free and advanced copy of this marvelous novel.

IMG_20181223_140836_013

View all my reviews

Book Reviews · Christmas · Romance

Christmas in London

Christmas in London: A NovelChristmas in London: A Novel by Anita Hughes

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Do you know why I love Christmas? Hot cocoa, cheery holiday carols, the smell of the Christmas tree, and most importantly – the kindness of people’s hearts.

When Bianca, a famous cooking channel host, gets an allergic reaction to the cinnamon rolls that her producer’s assistant brought over one fatal night, the show is under the risk of failure. But Noah finds a perfect replacement for Bianca, the person who actually baked the cinnamon rolls. Ironic, isn’t it? And is a splurge of the moment, Louisa is whisked off her feet, literally, and hours later lands in London. The crew has arrived in London for a couple of days to film an annual Christmas Eve Dinner TV special at Claridge’s. Besides the work, the team had plenty of time to play and misbehave, and they do use their time very wisely. And while Louisa and Noah run all around London, bickering and falling in love, Kate, the show’s producer, runs into her old crush and experiencing a little holiday romance of her own.

As the novel goes back and forth between Kate and Louisa, for some reason I find Kate’s story much more likable and entertaining. Not very realistic, but hey, this is Christmas and it’s totally fine to entertain ourselves with a delightful holiday book. Therefore, pour a glass of wine, wrap yourself in a warm cozy blanket and enjoy this sweet and charming Christmas romance.

IMG_20181221_104923_788.jpg

View all my reviews

All About Paris · Book Reviews · Romance

The Little Paris Patisserie

The Little Paris Patisserie: A heartwarming and feel good cosy romance - perfect for fans of Bake Off! (Romantic Escapes, Book 3)The Little Paris Patisserie: A heartwarming and feel good cosy romance – perfect for fans of Bake Off! by Julie Caplin

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My very first Julie Caplin’s book and I am in love with it! What’s not to love: the most beautiful city in the world, French pastries and a group of wonderful people. Well, throw a grumpy and one-legged boss into a mix and you have a fantastic story.

Ok, let’s start at the beginning. Young Nina has a big crush on her brother’s best friend (who is basically a family at that point). One night, in a splurge of a moment she kisses him, but unfortunately, that part does not go as well as young Nina imagined, and Sebastian leaves for a culinary school the next day. Since that night the two are falling apart for basically ten or more years.

Now, fast forward to present. Sebastian has an unfortunate accident, nasty fall that puts him in a cast for 7 weeks. Oh, pardon me, I should also mention that now a tall dark and handsome Sebastian is a very successful businessman, who invests and builds new restaurants/bistros all over UK and France. The last deal that Seb has made came with a little “bonus”. The old patisserie that he has purchased with the plans to turn it into a bistro has a seven-week patisserie course scheduled. So now Sebastian need an “extra pair of legs” to help him with the course… and his best friend’s little sister comes to the rescue.

Well now, who rescued who is a very big question here. Nina helped a struggling Sebastian to run his seven-week patisserie course. But on the other hand, Nina has received a tremendous opportunity to practice her baking skills in the old patisserie. And in between of all the sweet (literally) madness, Nina and Sebastian restore their friendship… mmmm besides the sugary scent, I smell a little romance in the air…

I am so happy to come across this wonderful novel. And now, I can’t wait to read the previous two books by wonderful Julie Caplin. Thank you NetGalley and HarperImpulse publisher for a free and advanced copy of this novel.

IMG_20181216_124734_740

View all my reviews

Biography / Memoir · History

Hitler’s Last Day

Hitler's Last DayHitler’s Last Day by Richard Dargie

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked up this book, with hopes to learn a little more of Hitler’s actual last day. The story in the book opens up broader to the whole story behind Hitler’s history.

I enjoyed the book, and author’s writing. It reminded me a lot of the book I’ve read earlier this year called “Five Days That Shocked the World” by Nicolas Best. Unlike the first book, this story is introduced in a lighter and less bald way. While telling the story of Hitler’s last day, the author trails back to the earlier days of Nazi’s leader. The book introduced me to a few brand new details, for example, Hitler’s relationship with women, a history behind it, his WWI experience and new facts/rumors from that time. And most importantly Stalin’s point of view on Hitler’s suicide. Many other facts were already known to me, however, it was a nice way to refresh the memory.

“Hitler’s Last Day” is a wonderful, short, very informative story of Nazi’s leader. Wonderful read and definitely a gift for any history lovers. Thank you, NetGalley for a free copy of the book, and Richard Dargie for a fascinating story.

IMG_20181214_110703_072

View all my reviews

Book Reviews · Christmas · Historical Fiction · History · Mystery · Romance

A Timeless Christmas

A Timeless ChristmasA Timeless Christmas by Alexis Stanton

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Megan Turner, just like me, is in love with the past. She even went as far as to study to become the American History professor at her local university. And during the process of applying for her dream job and collecting all necessary documentation and reference letters, Megan has found a job as a tour guide at the local museum.

Charles Whitley, an innovator and a businessman, is in love with the future. He travels all over Europe, searching for new ways to improve his own steel business. During his last trip to France, Charles purchased an old antique clock, and while trying to repair it he accidentally travels 116 years into the future.

The two young people meet during the magical Christmas time. Charles, who has always seen himself as a workaholic, for the first time takes the break from his work and sees the Christmas for what it really is… a family holiday. The time to spend and enjoy with the loved ones. However, after learning the history of his past, now more than ever Charles want to go back to his own time and succeed his most vicious rival.

A sweet and short novel about time traveling, friendship, love, and Christmas. Lovely evening read. Thank you, NetGalley, Alexis Stanton, and Hallmark Publishing for a free copy of this wonderful story.

IMG_20181209_135129_790

View all my reviews