All The Flowers In Paris

All The Flowers In Paris

All the Flowers in ParisAll the Flowers in Paris by Sarah Jio

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Two women, two timelines, one apartment…

2019, sunny and warm Paris.
A terrible accident leaves Caroline without a memory. After returning from a hospital, she finds herself in a glamorous apartment in Paris… all alone. Between the flashbacks of her memory, Caroline rediscovers herself in today’s world. She uncovers the love for painting, delicious french cuisine… and french man. During one of the sleepless nights, Caroline explores her large flat only to stumble on old wartime letters hidden in one of the bedrooms.

1943, Nazi-occupied Paris.
Cecile’s world turns upside down when she sees a yellow star painted on the window of the flower shop owned by her father. To top that, she catches the eye of a tyrant German officer. There is only one way to avert the destiny that hovers over all jews in Paris – run. But her plans are discovered, and Cecile becomes a prisoner in the Nazi’s home.

All The Flowers In Paris is a bittersweet novel of two women that at some point in their lives share the same apartment on rue Cler. Their stories are heartbreaking and full of grief, but, in the end, it teaches a valuable lesson – the ability to forgive, love and be thankful for good times and bad.

Thank you NetGalley and Orion publisher for an advanced free copy of the novel, and Sarah Jio for a wonderful story.

IMG_20190808_081034_601

View all my reviews

Advertisements
The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in ParisThe Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris by Jenny Colgan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Everything in life happens for a reason, and “The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris” is a perfect example to prove the theory.

Anna receives a phenomenal opportunity of a lifetime. Therefore Anna leaves her previous life behind in a small town in England and on her way to concur Chocolate world in the city of light and love. Upon her arrival in Paris, Anna becomes an apprentice to a very famous French confectioner Thierry, and shortly after they become close friends. During one of their walks, le famous chocolatier suffers a heart attack. This unfortunate incident plays a big role in Thierry’s life – it gives him a chance to reunite with the love of his life.

A heartwarming novel about new chances and opportunities, young love and friendship. Thank you NetGalley and Sphere Publisher for a free and advanced copy of the book.

IMG_20190728_110534_394

View all my reviews

The Little Bookshop on the Seine

The Little Bookshop on the Seine

The Little Bookshop on the Seine (The Little Paris Collection, #1; The Bookshop, #2)The Little Bookshop on the Seine by Rebecca Raisin

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

A sweet heartwarming story of friendship, trust, and determination.

Sarah is a kind and gracious friend, therefore when her friend from Paris asks to swap their bookshops and lives for a few months, she leaves her small and sweet little town behind in order to help her friend, and to get a taste of Paris.

Upon her arrival in the city of lights, everything seems to fall out of order. Her bags with documents are stolen, the shop is in a complete mess, the staff seems very snobby. And no matter how hard Sarah tries to raise the sales, nothing seems to be working, and worst of all – money start to go missing from the cash register. On top of everything, her long-distance relationship with a handsome freelance reporter is starting to go down the hill as well.

As weeks go by, Sarah achieves one of her goals, bookshops’ employees start to open up and include her in their circle. She meets one of her favorite author, with whom Sarah strikes a great friendship. She also finds a stack of old love letters hidden in a dark corner of the bookshop.

I loved the story. A wonderful set of many different characters, and a great life lesson – don’t judge people your first impression of them, you never know what they are going thru.

IMG_20190701_204122_197

View all my reviews

Mistress of the Ritz

Mistress of the Ritz

Mistress of the RitzMistress of the Ritz by Melanie Benjamin

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

While I really liked the entire book a lot, the beginning and the ending were outstanding.

The novel introduces us to Blanche and Claude Auzello, the Monsieur and Mistress of the Ritz. After returning from the line of war, the couple rushes to their beloved Ritz, just to find it occupied by Nazi. And like any other Parisian, the Auzellos do their best to follow the rules to avoid the opposite side of a German raffle. As the story unfolds, it seems that the Auzellos follow an old saying “keep your friends close, and your enemy closer”. But how long can they play this game? Joining the French resistance is not the only secret they must protect in order to survive, and stay alive.

I love books that pluck a piece of history and built an elaborate story around it. “Mistress of the Ritz” is a wonderful example of this. It is a fast-moving story filled with heroism, secrets, and a strong wish for survival. The author did a great job in the development of the characters. If you enjoy historical fiction, you do not want to miss this!

Thank you, Net Galley and Delacorte Press Publisher for a free ARC of this book.

IMG_20190522_081210_888.jpg

View all my reviews

One Summer in Paris

One Summer in Paris

One Summer in ParisOne Summer in Paris by Sarah Morgan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Opposites attract. And in “One Summer in Paris” the reader will witness the close friendship that will grow between two absolutely different characters.

Audrey and Grace arrive in Paris on the same day. However, their plans for a summer in Paris are completely opposed. Young Audrey, happy to leave alcoholic mother behind her in London, is looking for a new start in life. Although there are a few barriers laying on the way of her plan. Meanwhile, Grace’s original plan for summer in Paris was to spend with her husband of twenty-five years. Unfortunately, David has a different plan for the summer, that includes his twenty-year-old lover. Nevertheless, after arriving in Paris, Grace and Audrey’s paths cross in an unusual way and two characters fall on one another for a support that very fast will grow into an unbreakable bond and friendship.

I loved the setting of the novel, all secondary characters and little twists that were revealed at the end. This is an absolutely sweet and light read and will leave the reader’s heart full of warmth. “One Summer in Paris” not just a typical story of love, although that specific topic is a large part of the book, the novel also includes and discusses serious subjects like alcoholism and dyslexia.

Thank you NetGalley and HQN Books publisher for a free copy of the book and Sarah Morgan for a lovely story.

IMG_20190323_161549_869

View all my reviews

The Lost Girls Of Paris

The Lost Girls Of Paris

The Lost Girls of ParisThe Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres, therefore I was very interested in what this novel had to offer.

One summer morning, Grace stumbles upon a suitcase at Grand Central Station. Inside it, she finds twelve photographs of young women. Hours after the encounter with the suitcase, Grace learns that its owner, Eleanor Trigg, has been hit by the car hours earlier and died on the scene, right in front of Grand Central. But when Grace discovers another piece of information about the victim, she does unthinkable – she goes to Washington DC to investigate further into Eleanor’s case and photographs she has found in her suitcase.

Two years prior, Eleanor formed a group of female secret agents that were sent to France to help with the resistance. A few weeks into the new operation, Eleanor noticed discrepancies in communication with her girls, and shortly after – the agents started to disappear without the trace. Eleanor was released of her duties as soon as she brought her suspicions to the Director of an agency. Two years later, her questions about the lost girls were not answered and Eleonor finally received a chance to follow their steps to discover the truth.

This is a great story about friendship and survival. I enjoyed each character, their determination to keep moving forward has inspired me. Thank you, NetGalley and Park Row publisher for a free and advanced copy of this book, and huge thank you to Pam Jenoff for an incredible story.

img_20190114_123319_970

View all my reviews

The Little Paris Patisserie

The Little Paris Patisserie

The Little Paris Patisserie: A heartwarming and feel good cosy romance - perfect for fans of Bake Off! (Romantic Escapes, Book 3)The Little Paris Patisserie: A heartwarming and feel good cosy romance – perfect for fans of Bake Off! by Julie Caplin

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

My very first Julie Caplin’s book and I am in love with it! What’s not to love: the most beautiful city in the world, French pastries and a group of wonderful people. Well, throw a grumpy and one-legged boss into a mix and you have a fantastic story.

Ok, let’s start at the beginning. Young Nina has a big crush on her brother’s best friend (who is basically a family at that point). One night, in a splurge of a moment she kisses him, but unfortunately, that part does not go as well as young Nina imagined, and Sebastian leaves for a culinary school the next day. Since that night the two are falling apart for basically ten or more years.

Now, fast forward to present. Sebastian has an unfortunate accident, nasty fall that puts him in a cast for 7 weeks. Oh, pardon me, I should also mention that now a tall dark and handsome Sebastian is a very successful businessman, who invests and builds new restaurants/bistros all over UK and France. The last deal that Seb has made came with a little “bonus”. The old patisserie that he has purchased with the plans to turn it into a bistro has a seven-week patisserie course scheduled. So now Sebastian need an “extra pair of legs” to help him with the course… and his best friend’s little sister comes to the rescue.

Well now, who rescued who is a very big question here. Nina helped a struggling Sebastian to run his seven-week patisserie course. But on the other hand, Nina has received a tremendous opportunity to practice her baking skills in the old patisserie. And in between of all the sweet (literally) madness, Nina and Sebastian restore their friendship… mmmm besides the sugary scent, I smell a little romance in the air…

I am so happy to come across this wonderful novel. And now, I can’t wait to read the previous two books by wonderful Julie Caplin. Thank you NetGalley and HarperImpulse publisher for a free and advanced copy of this novel.

IMG_20181216_124734_740

View all my reviews