The House Guest

The House Guest by Alison James

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



From the moment Alexis enters the grand door of Mullens End and the quiet lives of Hugh and Juliet, Mullen’s marriage begins to fail rapidly. It had not been very stable before the gorgeous cousin’s arrival. However, the arrival of an unknown cousin brings multiple changes to Juliet’s life.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this fast-paced novel. It was filled with unexpected twists and turns that kept me engaged from start to finish. The characters were well-developed and interesting, and I found myself constantly wanting to know more about them. The story itself was captivating, and I found myself on the edge of my seat throughout the entire book. Hugh’s character was particularly intriguing, as he was able to manipulate multiple women for his own selfish desires. Juliet surprised me the most, as she was able to use her intelligence to solve the mystery at hand. However, Belinda’s character was the most shocking of them all. As the saying goes, “Beware the quiet ones,” and Belinda certainly proved that to be true. She underwent a complete transformation throughout the course of the novel, leaving me thoroughly impressed.

Alison James delivers a captivating novel that keeps the reader engaged from start to finish. I am grateful to NetGalley for providing me with a free and advanced copy of the novel in exchange for my honest review.



View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “The House Guest

Leave a comment