A Child for the Reich

A Child for the Reich by Andie Newton

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



The story, told from the Czech perspective, is both wonderful and heartbreaking. I was appalled to recently learn about the Lebensborn Society and its expansion into several occupied European countries. The narrative centers around Czech Aryan like children who were taken by the so-called “brown sisters” and placed in newly established children’s homes. These children were eventually adopted by “good Germans.” The novel follows the journey of Anna, a mother consumed by grief, as she risks everything to get her daughter back. Her adventure is filled with danger, luck, and heartbreak.

The book’s final chapter moved me to tears. It’s been a while since a novel’s conclusion has evoked such a strong emotional response from me. I know that I will remember this story and its characters for a long time.

In summary, the book offers insight into yet another form of Nazi propaganda and the devastating loss that so many endured at the hands of the Nazis. It’s a raw and honest account that doesn’t shy away from the truth. I found it to be a fantastic read and would like to extend my gratitude to Andie Newton for crafting such a magnificent story.



View all my reviews

Leave a comment