The Clock Struck Murder

The Clock Struck Murder by Betty Webb

My rating: 3 of 5 stars



I recently had the pleasure of reading a captivating novel set in the enchanting city of Paris during the roaring 20s. From the outset, it was clear that the author had a deep love and understanding of the city, which made for a fantastic backdrop to a thrilling story.

Although I hadn’t read the first book in the series, I was able to jump right into the story, thanks to the author’s skillful weaving of Zoe’s backstory into the narrative. I enjoyed the mystery elements of the story, which kept me intrigued throughout. And the characters were well-drawn and engaging, making me care about what happened to them.

However, I did find that the pacing of the novel was a bit slow, which detracted slightly from my enjoyment. Nonetheless, the plot was strong and kept me engaged until the end. I particularly appreciated Zoe’s passion for helping struggling artists, which added a layer of depth to her character.

As a lover of all things Parisian, I would have liked to have seen more of the city and its environs in the novel. Nonetheless, the glimpses of life in Paris in the Roaring 20s were well done, and I appreciated the historical context.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this novel to anyone looking for an engaging mystery set in the City of Light. I’m eagerly anticipating the next installment in the series.

I am grateful to NetGalley for providing me with a free and advanced copy of this wonderful novel.



View all my reviews

Leave a comment