The Wharton Plot

The Wharton Plot by Mariah Fredericks

My rating: 3 of 5 stars



I am a big fan of Edith Wharton’s books, so I was eagerly anticipating reading about a story in her life.

I found the plot to be quite dull. The murder of a fellow novelist, David Graham Phillips, her competitor, piqued Edith’s interest; her investigation was unimpressive as she had no way to narrow down the suspects. She kept accusing anyone she thought was the murderer without any concrete evidence, which made her appear foolish.

Moreover, her relationship with her husband is a significant part of the novel, with Edith constantly trying to avoid him.

In my opinion, the book lacked any real suspense. The story focuses on too many different things thrown into the plot, making it unnecessarily longer.

I was completely engrossed by the writing of Old New York and its society. This part of the story truly stood out to me and I found it to be the most enthralling aspect of the entire narrative.

Thank you, NetGalley, for providing me with a complimentary and early copy of the novel.



View all my reviews

Leave a comment