The Custody Battle

The Custody Battle: A completely gripping and addictive domestic suspense novel by Ellie Monago

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



“The Custody Battle” is a captivating novel, and I must say that it drew me in from the very first pages. The characters of Madeline and Greg are well-crafted, with Madeline coming across as controlling and entitled, while Greg is portrayed as a follower with little self-confidence. However, as the story unfolds, we see Greg begin to find his voice and assert himself. While I didn’t necessarily care for either character, I appreciated how the author highlighted the darker and more dangerous aspects of divorce.

The author does an excellent job of focusing on the couple’s child, who is the true victim of the divorce. It is heart-wrenching to see how the parents’ toxic behavior affects her life. Neither Madeline nor Greg acts in a manner befitting of responsible adults, and by the end of the novel, their hatred consumes them both.

The ending is both interesting and poignant, with a final twist that ties everything together. Overall, I found this book to be a thought-provoking and emotionally charged read. Special thanks to NetGalley for providing me with an advanced copy of this novel.



View all my reviews

Leave a comment