One Wrong Word

One Wrong Word by Hank Phillippi Ryan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



The novel’s pace was one of the things that stood out to me the most. It covered a span of many days, yet was able to do so in a concise and engaging way. The characters, while seemingly straightforward at first, were given depth and complexity as the story developed. This made it easy to get invested in their individual journeys, even as the mystery surrounding them deepened.

As the plot progressed, it became increasingly difficult to determine who was telling the truth and who was lying. The different versions of events that were presented throughout the novel made me question every character’s motives and actions. This kept me on edge throughout the story and added an extra layer of intrigue to the mystery at hand.

While I found the ending to be a bit too dramatic for my personal taste, I appreciated how it tied up loose ends and provided a satisfying resolution to the story. Overall, I found this to be a great thriller that kept me engaged and entertained from start to finish.

One of the things that I particularly enjoyed about this novel was how the main character, Arden, was a savvy crisis management expert rather than a detective. This made her unique compared to other protagonists in the genre and added an interesting dynamic to the story. Watching her narrow down the suspects and try to solve the case using unconventional methods was both entertaining and refreshing.

I am grateful to NetGalley for granting me access to an advanced copy of this novel, which I thoroughly enjoyed reading. The author’s writing style was engaging, and the plot was well-crafted, keeping me hooked from beginning to end. The characters were well-developed, and I found myself invested in their stories and rooting for them throughout the book.



View all my reviews

Leave a comment